INAE Young Engineer Award

Nominations are invited for INAE Young Engineer Award 2020


Purpose of the Award

To recognize outstanding achievements/contributions made by Young Engineers with strong potential for future professional growth impact in any branch of engineering.


Any citizen of India not older than 35 years holding the first tertiary degree in engineering/technology as on 1st of January 2020.


A nomination is valid for one year only. A candidate may be nominated for three times in total subject to his/her age not exceeding 35 years.


Evidence of excellence in engineering research, product/process, design, technology development and transfer specific contribution submitted for consideration of the Award should have been carried out in India.

Call for Nominations

Nominations are invited from young engineers working in academia, R&D laboratories and industry. The sponsor must be either a Fellow of INAE or Head of the Organization/ Institution where the nominee is working. The nominations are to be sent on A-4 size paper in the prescribed format which may also be downloaded from INAE website ( A scanned soft copy of the completed proforma may also be sent by email to within deadline prior to posting one original hard copy to INAE Office, Gurgaon by Speed Post/Courier.

Last Date for Nomination

The last date for the receipt of nominations is April 15, 2020.

The Award

The Award shall consist of a cash prize of Rs.1 lakh and a citation. All INAE Young Engineer Awardees will also become INAE Young Associates on the conferment of the Award and shall continue to be “INAE Young Associates” till attaining 45 years of age. The decision of the INAE Council in all concerned matters shall be final.

Selection Procedure

The Award is instituted to identify, recognize and encourage young and promising talents in India who have made and are likely to continue to make outstanding contributions impacting engineering research and design, technology development and transfer. The short listed nominees will be invited to make a presentation followed by an interaction with the Selection Committee on dates to be announced later.

Presentation of the Award

The awardees will be invited for the INAE Annual Convention being held in December each year wherein they would be conferred with the Award and also inducted as INAE Young Associates.

Forwarding of Nominations

The nominations should be forwarded by Speed Post/Courier to:

Executive Director
Indian National Academy of Engineering (INAE)
6th Floor, Unit No. 604-609, SPAZE I-Tech Park, Tower A,
Sector 49, Sohna Road, Gurgaon – 122018

Phone: 0124-4239480, Fax: 0124-4239481
E-mail: inaehq@inae.inINAE website:

Recipients of Young Engineer Award.


Dr. Venugopal Arumuru, Assistant Professor, School of Mechanical Sciences, Indian Institute of Technology Bhubaneswar (Fluid and Thermal Science)

Dr. Bhushan Jayant Toley, Assistant Professor, Chemical Engineering Department, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore (Microfluidics and Point-of-Care Diagnostics)

Mr. S Narendar, Scientist D, Thermo-Structural Test Facility, Directorate of Materials and Structural Testing, Defence Research and Development Laboratory, Hyderabad (Thermo-Structural Testing and Wave Propagation in Nanostructures)

Dr. Uttam Kumar Ghorai, Assistant Professor, Department of Industrial Chemistry & Applied Chemistry, Ramakrishna Mission Vidyamandira, Howrah (Materials Science & Engineering, Materials Chemistry, Nanoscience & Nanotechnology)

Dr. Poulami Chakraborty, Scientific Officer E, Physical Metallurgy Section, Materials Science Division, Bhabha Atomic Research Centre, Mumbai (Liquid Metal Corrosion, Materials for Fusion & Advanced Nuclear Reactors.)

Dr. Shyamprasad Karagadde, Assistant Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology Bombay, Mumbai (Solidification, Computational methods)

Mr. Rakesh Gupta, Scientist, Tata Consultancy Services, Hadapsar, Pune (Chemical Engineering, Multiscale modelling, Molecular Simulation & Modelling and Nanotechnology)

Mr. Sourabh Karmarkar, Sci./Engr. – SE, SCSE, SCSG, ESES, MSOB, Liquid Propulsion System Centre, Thiruvananthapuram.(Design, development & analysis of liquid propulsion Stage Systems)

Dr. Sandip Chakraborty, Assistant Professor, Department of Computer Science and Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur (Computer Systems and Ubiquitous Computing)

Dr. Ravishankar Krishnaswamy, Researcher, Microsoft Research, Vigyan Building, Bangalore (Design and analysis of algorithms for fundamental optimization problems)

Dr. R Sudharshan Kaarthik, Assistant Professor, Avionics Block, Indian Institute of Space Science and Technology, Thiruvananthapuram (Electrical Power Systems for satellite, Electronic Systems, Power Conversion, Renewable Energy)

Dr. Shyam Kamal, Assistant Professor, Department of Electrical Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology (Banaras Hindu University), Varanasi (Control Systems)

Dr. Ketan Rajawat, Assistant Professor, Department of Electrical Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur (Signal Processing in Networks)

Dr. VR Supradeepa, Assistant Professor, Centre for Nano Science and Engineering, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore (Photonics and Lasers specifically Optical communications, Fiber lasers and Amplifiers, Nonlinear Photonics, Integrated Photonics, Ultrafast Optics and RF Photonics)

Dr. JN Sheikh, Assistant Professor, Department of Textile Technology, Indian Institute of Technology Delhi (Fibres & Textile Processing Technology)