INAE Outstanding Teachers Award

The award aims to recognize and honour teachers in Indian Colleges, Universities, and Institutions, who have provided guidance and inspired students to take up careers in Engineering and Technology. All disciplines of Engineering and Technology will come under the purview of this award. There will be a maximum of TWO such awards per year. The awardees shall receive a citation, a cash award of Rs. 1.0 lakh and a one time book grant of Rs.25,000/-.

One award will cover the disciplines of Civil Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Chemical Engineering, Aerospace Engineering and Mining, Metallurgical and Materials Engineering. The other award will cover Computer Engineering and Information Technology, Electrical Engineering, Electronics and Communication Engineering, Energy Engineering and Interdisciplinary Engineering and Special Fields. The nominees should have been recognized for their outstanding abilities in teaching already by peers, institutes, and students. Such abilities can be measured on a weighted scale in terms of consistent high scores in teacher evaluation by students (where existent), which rates the expert professional knowledge and understanding of the subject by the teacher, quality of teaching, and ability to motivate and inspire the students. The outstanding teacher should be of unquestionable honesty, integrity, and moral character. The quality of teaching and research can also be measured in terms of best teacher awards obtained by the nominees in their own Institutes.

The nominee should be working or have worked in India for a minimum of 10 years, and have at least 20 years of teaching experience at undergraduate or postgraduate level in any College/ University/Institution.

The teacher should be a Fellow of INAE and be nominated by two Fellows of INAE. A Fellow may forward only one nomination in a year. Those Fellows who have already received the INAE Life Time Contribution Award in Engineering, or, Prof Jai Krishna Memorial Award/Prof SN Mitra Memorial Award or are members of the Selection Committee for Life Time Contribution Award in Engineering, Prof Jai Krishna Memorial Award, and Prof SN Mitra Memorial Award, or, the Governing Council should not be nominated. As per the eligibility criteria, the nominations shall remain valid for three years and re-nominations shall be accepted.

A nomination shall be made in the prescribed format (Annexure) along with all supporting documents; two hard copies and a soft copy in MS-Word only (in a CD/through e-mail at The nomination proforma can also be downloaded from INAE website The last date of receipt of nominations is 15th of May each year. The Nominations that are not complete or received after the due date shall not be considered.

The Selection Committee for Life Time Contribution Award in Engineering, Prof Jai Krishna Memorial Award, and Prof SN Mitra Memorial Award will select the awardees/


Recipients of Outstanding Teachers Award 2017


Prof S Narayanan

Prof S Narayanan, formerly Professor of Mechanical Engineering, IIT Madras after teaching for more than 40 years has joined the IIITDM, Kancheepuram as Emeritus Professor. He has made outstanding teaching and research contributions in the areas of Vibration, Acoustics and Noise Control.

Prof Ganapati Panda

Prof Ganapati Panda, Professor and Deputy Director, Indian Institute of Technology Bhubaneswar has made outstanding contributions in the areas of Electronics and Communication Engineering spanning over more than four decades through his academic research, teaching and professional leadership. His research in the area of Digital signal processing is well acclaimed.