Life Time Contribution Award in Engineering

Purpose of the Award

To recognise life time contribution in engineering made by eminent persons to any branch of engineering within the purview of the Academy.


Any citizen of India who is not a Member of INAE Council during the year of the Award.


Any citizen of India who has made distinguished contributions in the field of engineering / engineering research / engineering education / technology development / engineering services or management which have brought prestige to the nation and regarded as landmarks of technological excellence in the country, is eligible for nomination. In case the nominee is an INAE Fellow, he/she should not be a member of the INAE Governing Council during the year of the award.

Number of Awards

Upto two Awards in a year. The Academy reserves the right not to recommend an award in any year.


Nominations will be invited from INAE Fellows to be submitted preferably through Digital Platform only. Wherever it is not possible to submit the nominations through Digital Platform despite persistent efforts, in exceptional case, the same can be submitted on the prescribed Proforma indicating a brief statement of outstanding and distinguished contributions of the nominee. Self-nomination of a person shall not be considered. Nominations shall remain valid for three years and renominations shall be accepted.

Last date of Nomination

The last date of receipt of nominations has been extended to May 31, 2021

Selection for the Award

The Selection Committee under the Chairmanship of President with three Vice-Presidents as members will recommend two nominees for conferment of the subject Award to the Governing Council.

Value of the Award

The award shall consist of Rs.5 lakhs in cash and a citation.

Presentation of the Award

The awardees will be requested to deliver an inspirational talk on their exciting engineering experiences during the Academy Annual Convention.


Instructions for submitting online nominations

Eligibility of Nominee

The nominee should not be a member of the INAE Governing Council during the year of the award.

Click here to check Governing Council Members

Steps to be followed by Proposer (INAE Fellows)

  1. INAE Fellow needs to login to his/her account.
  2. INAE Life Time Contribution Award button appears on dashboard
  3. Choose Life Time Contribution Award button.
  4. The nomination page open with two options (i) Fellow Nomination (ii) Non-Fellow Nomination
  5. Select button as per requirement and fill the form.
  6. After submitting the form, a print out of the form may be taken for record .

** The nominations can only be proposed by INAE Fellows

Self-Nomination is not allowed

Recipients Of Life Time Contribution Award in Engineering 2020

Prof KA Padmanabhan

Prof. K.A. Padmanabhan, Professor of Eminence, Department of Mechanical Engineering, Anna University, Chennai and former Director, IIT Kanpur has made outstanding contributions to Engineering Education and Materials Research. His models for Optimal Superplasticity and Inverse Hall-Petch Effect in different classes of materials are described as “break-through from India” by “Nature Materials.” His papers with H Gleiter on the structure of interfaces and grain boundaries are pioneering. His research on mechanical behaviour of stainless steels for Fast Breeder Programme, development of alloy equivalent for AFNOR 7020, establishing a facility for superplastic forming for Indian Space Programme and development of multi-stage forging technology for undercarriage base plate fitting for supersonic aircraft for Indian Defence Research have benefited mission- oriented programmes.

Dr TSR Prasada Rao

Dr TSR Prasada Rao, Formerly Director, IIP, Dehradun has made outstanding contributions in developing mission-critical technologies that substitute processes available solely from multinational companies. He has contributed immensely to technologies for transportation fuels, plastics, and materials. In major accomplishments, he developed and commercialized more than 10 technologies in collaboration with leading Indian companies including Bharat Petroleum, Indian Oil, GAIL, Indian Petrochemicals, Reliance, and Cadila Pharmaceuticals. As Director, CSIR Indian Institute of Petroleum, he was instrumental in its transformation as a world-class innovation centre. Similarly, Dr. Rao led Indian Petrochemicals to acquire catalyst manufacturing capabilities expanding India’s position in the global catalyst manufacturing industry.