INAE Woman Engineer of the Year Award

It is informed that the Department of Science and Technology (DST), vide its letter no. DST/PCPM/Awards and decoration/06/2020 dated 07.09.2022 has advised that all awards of INAE should be discontinued with immediate effect, as per the direction of the Ministry of Home Affairs. In view of above, all awards of INAE have been suspended since the receipt of this letter, till further directions.

Purpose of the Award

To recognize and honour deserving women engineers, every year, who have made outstanding contributions to any field of engineering and technology in India and may serve as role models to budding women engineering professionals in the future.


Woman engineers working in India, between the age of 40 to 60 years. The award is to be bestowed on an individual only, who should be citizen of India. The nominee need not be an INAE Fellow.  In case the nominee is an INAE Fellow, she should not be a member of the INAE Governing Council during the year of the award.


Contributions by a woman engineer, who has made a significant difference in any branch of engineering and technology by way of breakthrough innovation and disruptive change in different fields of engineering and have helped to advance the knowledge and competence to the benefit of the profession and people in India.

Number of Awards

INAE will honour three women engineers, each year – one from each of the three categories, (i) Academia (ii) Industry and (iii) R&D.


Nominations will be invited from INAE Fellows to be submitted as per prescribed Proforma with a brief statement of outstanding and distinguished contributions. Self-nomination of a person shall not be considered. The nominations will remain valid for three years. The nominees can be re-nominated after a cooling period of two years. The nominations for the award will be invited every year. The nominations for the award should be nominated and seconded by the Fellows of the INAE only.

Last date of Nomination

The last date of receipt of nominations is 15th day of May each year

Selection for the Award

The Selection Committee for Life Time Contribution Award in Engineering/ Prof Jai Krishna and Prof SN Mitra Memorial Awards and INAE Outstanding Teachers Awards under the Chairmanship of President with three Vice-Presidents as members will recommend one Woman Engineer from each of the three categories, (i) Academia (ii) Industry and (iii) R&D to the Governing Council.

Value of the Award

The award carries a cash award of Rs. 2 lakhs and a citation

Presentation of the Award

The awards will be presented during the Academy Annual Convention.

Forwarding of Nominations:

A scanned soft copy of the completed nomination form along with all supporting documents / appendices as per the prescribed format should be sent by email to

To view Proforma for Nomination Click Here

To view Instructions for submitting nomination online Click Here

INAE Woman Engineer of the Year Awardees 2021

Academia – Prof Sharada Srinivasan, Professor, National Institute of Advanced Studies (NIAS), Bangalore.
R&D – Smt Madhumita Chakravarti, Director, Centre for Millimeterwave Semiconductor Devices and Systems (CMSDS), Kolkata.

Industry – Ms Vartika Shukla, Chairperson & Managing Director, Engineers India Limited, New Delhi.

INAE Woman Engineer of the Year Awardees 2020

Academia – Prof. Sanghamitra Bandyopadhyay, Director, Indian Statistical Institute, Kolkata.
R&D – Dr. Lalithambika V.R., Director, Directorate of Human Space Programme, ISRO.
Industry – Dr. Dheepa Srinivasan, Chief Engineer, Pratt and Whitney, R&D Centre United Technologies Corporation India Pvt. Ltd, Bangalore.