Innovative Student Projects Award

Purpose of the Award

The Indian National Academy of Engineering (INAE), established in 1987, is a ‘Peer’ body of some of the most distinguished engineers in India and abroad.  The salient objects of the Academy are to promote the advancement of and excellence in the practice of engineering and technology and the related science disciplines and their application to problems of national importance.  The Academy also aims at presenting research and development activities in engineering at academic and professional forums in India and abroad.  INAE encourages inventions, scientific investigations and research, and promotes their application for development of all sectors of the national economy.

There is a need to encourage research and development culture amongst engineers during the formative years of their undergraduate and postgraduate training, so that they begin their professional career well prepared with ideas and innovative skills.

The Academy instituted the above Award since 1998 to identify innovative and creative research projects undertaken by the students in the engineering institutions, and to give an early recognition and incentives to them.


Potentially innovative projects/theses are assessed at three levels, viz., B.E./B.Tech, M.E./M.Tech and Ph.D.  Nominations for the awards 2019 will be accepted by the Academy according to the following eligibility requirement.

Final Year (4th year) B.E./B.Tech projects completed upto June 30, 2019 for the academic year 2018-2019.
M.E./M.Tech theses examined from July 1, 2018 upto June 30, 2019 during the academic year 2018 -2019.
Ph.D. theses examined and accepted/recommended for Award from June 1, 2018 upto May 31, 2019.

It is compulsory that Degree / Provisional Degree Certificate must accompany the nomination proforma.

Call for Nominations

Only one nomination for projects/theses in each of the Engineering Sections of INAE listed in Serial 7 of the Nomination Form, at each level, viz., Doctoral, Master’s and Bachelor are accepted from an Engineering College for assessing their innovative potential and intrinsic merit.

The nominations are to be sent on A-4 size paper in the prescribed format given in the brochure.  (Ink signed copy of the nominations are to be sent, in case the same has been downloaded from INAE website).  A scanned soft copy of the completed nomination form should also be sent by email to

The nominations must be sent by Principal/Deans/Heads/Registrar/Director of Engineering College where the candidate has carried out his project/thesis for award of degree and not through the organization where the candidate is presently working

Last Date for Nominations

The last date of the receipt of nomination is 7th day of July each year.

The Award

The Award shall comprise a certificate and Rs.25000/- in cash for the awardees selected at Doctoral Level; Rs.15000/- in cash for the awardees selected at Master’s Level; and Rs 10,000/- in cash for the awardees selected at Bachelor level to each team member, subject to a maximum of four team members.

All Innovative Student Project Awardees will also be inducted as “Student-Members” during the Awards Ceremony in INAE Annual Convention. The Student -membership is valid for a period of five years.

Selection Procedure

There would be a two-tier selection process wherein the initial shortlisting would be done by the Selection Committee. The short listed nominees will be invited to make a presentation before the Selection Committee on dates to be announced later. The Selection Committee would then recommend the nominee for conferment of the Award for the approval by the Governing Council.

Presentation of the Award

The awardees will be invited for the INAE Annual Convention being held in December each year wherein they would be conferred with the Award and also inducted as “Student-Members” for a period of five years.

Forwarding of Nominations

The ink-signed copy of nomination in the prescribed Proforma may be forwarded at the following address:

Executive Director
Indian National Academy of Engineering
6th Floor, Unit No. 604-609
SPAZE I-Tech Park,Tower A,
Sector 49, Sohna Road
Gurgaon, Haryana (India) – 122018

Phone: 0124-4239480, Fax: 0124-4239481

A scanned soft copy of the completed nomination form should also be sent by email to

Nomination Form

Recipients of Innovative Student Projects Award.

Doctoral Level
Dr. Abhijit Chandra Roy, Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Kanpur (Soft Aspherical Optical lens)
Dr. Brince Paul, Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Hyderabad (Zinc Oxide Nanowire Based Biosensors on Flexible Substrate for Point-of-Care- Applications)
Dr. Jopaul K Ignatius, Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Madras (Aeroacoustics of free and impinging jets and its suppression in a launch vehicle lift-off ambience)
Dr. Manugula Vijayalakshmi, University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad (Advanced Methods of Joining for Indian Reduced Activation Ferritic-Martensitic Steel)
Dr. Manas Kumar Jena, Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Delhi (Application of Synchrophasor Measurements for Enhanced Back-up Protection and Situational Awareness)
Dr. Saptarshi Ghosh, Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Kanpur (Studies on Multi-band and Broadband Absorbers based on Passive/Active Frequency Selective Surfaces)

Master’s Level

Mr. Jayeshkumar Sevantilal Mevada, Institute of Chemical Technology, Mumbai (Intensification of Intracellular Enzyme Recovery)
Mr. Rajarshi Roychaudhuri, Indian Institute of Engineering Science and Technology, Shibpur (Self Assembled Nano-Heterostructures of MnO2 for Efficient Vapor Sensor Device Applications)

Bachelor Level

Mr. Saikat Dey, Indian Institute of Engineering Science and Technology, Shibpur (SiC MOSFET based Resonant Power Electronic Converters for High Frequency Applications)
Ms R.Hemalatha, St. Joseph’s College of Engineering, Chennai (Fabrication of Novel Pesticide detection tool and its application in Food samples)
Mr. Vishwaraj Srivastava, Jamia Millia Islamia, New Delhi (Development of Haptic Gloves for its use as an Assistive Technology for Blinds Using Augmented and Mixed Reality)
Mr. Hariharan S., Mr. Gowatham Raju C and Mr. Santhana Bharathi M Alagappa College of Technology, Anna University, Chennai (Development of Cost Effective Matte Glaze For Double Firing Wall Tiles and Their Behavior Studies)
Mr. Aathira Vijaykumar Hegde, Indian Institute of Space Science and Technology (IIST), Thiruvananthapuram (Current Error Space Vector PWM based Speed Sensor-less Field Oriented Control of Induction Motor Drive with Stator Resistance Estimation)
Mr. S. Akash, Mr. M. Arun Karthik and Mr. G. Bharath Raj Sri Venkateswara College of Engineering, Tamil Nadu (Adaptive Distance Protection Scheme with Compensation for Infeed in Smart Grid Environment)
Mr. Litu Rout, Indian Institute of Space Science and Technology (IIST), Thiruvananthapuram (Boosting Visual Object Tracking Performance Using a Stack of Machine Learning Algorithms)
Ms Anupama Arun, Indian Institute of Space Science and Technology (IIST), Thiruvananthapuram (Dictionary Learning based algorithms for Compressed Sensing based reconstruction of Undersampled Magnetic Resonance Imaging Data)