INAE Young Engineer Award

Guidelines and Application Form

Purpose of the Award

To recognize outstanding achievements /contributions made by Young Engineers in any branch of engineering.


Any citizen of India not older than 35 years as on the 1st of January 2019.


A nomination is valid for one year only. A candidate may be nominated for two successive years subject to his/her age not exceeding 35 years.


Engineering research, excellence in engineering design, technology development and technology transfer. Work submitted for consideration of the Award should have been carried out totally in India.

Call for Nominations

Nominations are invited from engineers working in academia, R&D laboratories and industry. The sponsor must be either a Fellow of INAE or Head of the Organization/ Institution where the nominee is working. The nominations are to be sent on A-4 size paper in the prescribed format which may also be downloaded from INAE website A scanned soft copy of the completed proforma may also be sent by email to prior to posting one original hard copy to INAE Office, Gurgaon by Speed Post/Courier.

Last Date for Nomination

The last date for the receipt of nominations is March 31, 2019.

The Award

The Award shall consist of a cash prize of Rs.1 lakh and a citation. All INAE Young Engineer Awardees will also become INAE Young Associates” on the conferment of the award and shall continue to be “INAE Young Associates” till attaining 45 years of age. The decision of the INAE Council shall be final.

Selection Procedure

The Award is in recognition of engineering research, excellence in engineering design, technology development and technology transfer. The short‑listed nominees will be invited to make a presentation followed by an interaction with the Selection Committee on dates to be announced later.

Presentation of the Award

The awardees will be invited for the INAE Annual Convention being held in December each year wherein they would be conferred with the Award and also inducted as INAE Young Associates.

Forwarding of Nominations

The nominations should be forwarded by Speed Post/Courier to:

Executive Director
Indian National Academy of Engineering (INAE)
6th Floor, Unit No. 604-609, SPAZE I-Tech Park, Tower A,
Sector 49, Sohna Road, Gurgaon – 122018

Phone: 0124-4239480, Fax: 0124-4239481
E-mail: inaehq@inae.inINAE website:

Nomination Form

Recipients of Young Engineer Award.


Dr. Swati Ghosh Acharyya, Assistant Professor, School of Engineering Science and Technology, University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad(Corrosion Science and Engineering with emphasis on Surface engineering of materials for corrosion control: Modeling and Experimental Validation)

Dr. Rishi Raj, Assistant Professor, IIT Patna, Bihar (Energy Efficiency, Boiling, Two-phase flows, Mircogravity Science)
Dr. Kabeer Jasuja, Assistant Professor, Chemical Engineering Office, Indian Institute of Technology Gandhinagar, Gandhinagar(Nanotechnology)
Mr. Thammisetty Devakumar, Scientist/Engineer’SD’, EFAD/CPES, Liquid Propulsion Systems Centre, Trivandrum (Liquid propellant rocket engine systems modeling and system engineering)
Dr. Sathesh Mariappan, Assistant Professor, Department of Aerospace Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur, Kanpur(Aerospace Propulsion)
Dr. Siddharth Barman, Assistant Professor, Department of Computer and Automation, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore (Algorithmic Game Theory and Approximation Algorithms)
Mr. Amitkumar M Patel, Scientific Officer D, Institute for Plasma Research, Gandhinagar (High Voltage and Power Electronics)
Dr. Sushobhan Avasthi, Assistant Professor, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore (Photovoltaics)
Dr. AK Rengan, Assistant Professor, Department of BME, IIT Hyderabad, Kandi, Sangareddy (Biomedical Engineering (Nanotechnology))
Dr. Malay Bhattacharyya, Assistant Professor, Department of Information Technology, Indian Institute of Engineering Science and Technology, Howrah (Computer Science)